Gadsden Elementary Magnet School announces Spelling Bee winners

C-O-N-G-R-A-T-U-L-A-T-I-O-N-S to Gadsden Elementary Magnet School Spelling Bee winners, (seated) L-R, third place Terry Sweet, first place Kayla Washington and second place Avalondria Sapp. Faculty Spelling Bee officials are, standing, L-R, judges Julius Ervin, Sonja Wilson-Lewis and Sonja James, facilitator LaTasha Dilworth-Porter, and pronouncer Kaleigh Taylor. In December, 15 of the school’s top spellers in grades four through eight clashed in the annual school-wide Spelling Bee. Gadsden Elementary Magnet School officials said this year’s contest was “very competitive” – a close race from start to finish. In the end, Kayla Washington came out on top; the GEMS spelling champ will attempt to out-spell school winners from across Gadsden County in the district Spelling Bee this Friday, January 11.


The staff of The Chattahoochee News-Herald & Sneads Sentinel can be reached by email at

Copyright 2021 Priority News Inc.